Four Chhatra League activists held for attacking journalists on DU campus

“The four were detained and sent to the police station on Tuesday night immediately after the incident,” Dhaka University Proctor Prof AKM Golam Rabbani told

The detainees have been identified as Dhaka University Bijoy Ekattor Hall Chhatra League Deputy Secretary and Farsi Department student Ahmed Faisal, Communication Disorders Department student Anwarul Kabir, and English Department students Tofail Hossain and Ashraful Islam Sakib.

The four are all first-year students and are known to be supporters of Bijoy Ekattor Hall branch Chhatra League President Fakir Rasel Ahmed.

“Shamima and I were speaking in front of the university’s Kalabhaban around 9pm,” said Masum. “The four came up to us and demanded to know who we were. They attacked us when we told them we were university alumni, saying we were outsiders.”

Two other journalists were nearby and ran to help. The attackers tried to flee. One of them was then chased down by a journalist.

The university administration then found the remaining three. Leaders of the Dhaka University Journalists Association also came to the scene.

Proctor Golam Rabbani said the proctorial body found the other three and handed them over to Shahbag police. Legal proceedings will be taken against them according to the university’s rules, he said.

“The Chhatra League will also handle the matter internally,” Dhaka University BCL President Abid Al Hassan told