Formula One: Nico Rosberg crowned world champion

Germany’s Nico Rosberg won his first Formula One world championship after finishing second in a tense Abu Dhabi Grand Prix won by Mercedes team mate Lewis Hamilton.

After all the suspense and expectation, Sunday’s race saw Hamilton chalking up his 10th win of the season, and fourth in a row, but powerless to do anything about the championship outcome despite making every effort.

His attempt to push Rosberg into the clutches of those behind him, by deliberately slowing the pace in the closing laps to the concern of team bosses, produced a nail-biting finish with the top four separated by just 1.6 seconds. 

    2016 – Nico Rosberg

    2015 – Lewis Hamilton

    2014 – Lewis Hamilton

    2013 – Sebastian Vettel

    2012 – Sebastian Vettel

    2011 – Sebastian Vettel

    2010 – Sebastian Vettel

    2009 – Jenson Button

    2008 –  Lewis Hamilton

    2007 – Kimi Raikkonen

    2006 – Fernando Alonso

Rosberg, who had needed only to finish in the top three to be sure of the title, held position to become his country’s third champion after Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel.

The son of 1982 title-winner Keke Rosberg is also only the second son of a world champion, after Britain’s Damon Hill, to take the crown.

Hamilton started from pole position and had little trouble winning the day-night race at the 5.554km Yas Marina circuit. But Rosberg had entered the race 12 points ahead of Hamilton in the standings, meaning a podium finish would secure the title regardless of Hamilton’s performance.

Rosberg ends the season on 385 points to Hamilton’s 380 to replicate the title win of his father Keke in 1982.

“Unreal,” Rosberg said on the podium. “I am very, very proud. I have done the same feat as my dad achieved. He will be here in half an hour and I am so excited to see him.”

“That was not the most enjoyable race I’ve had,” he admitted at the end. “I’m glad it’s over and I am absolutely ecstatic.”

In addition to persuading F1’s veteran commercial ring-master Bernie Ecclestone to “eat his words” after saying that a Rosberg title win would be bad for business, he left several other pundits chewing furiously. 

“Big congratulations to Nico, good job man,” said Hamilton.

Abu Dhabi GP – Top 10

1. Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes
2. Nico Rosberg – Mercedes
3. Sebastian Vettel – Ferrari 
4. Max Verstappen – Red Bull
5. Daniel Ricciardo – Red Bull
6. Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari
7. Nico Huelkenberg – Force India
8. Sergio Perez – Force India
9. Felipe Massa – Williams-Mercedes
10. Fernando Alonso – McLaren

Source: News Agencies